Free Time? That’s Funny.

Hi there.

So today will mostly just be a chat about how, as you might have inferred, I have no free time.

But who am I to complain? I mean, I signed up for the madness that has become my life this semester.

Just to fill you in, I’ve been juggling three papers this week–ranging from one to ten pages–and to be honest I’m a little brain-dead.

But, as I’ve been writing, I’m beginning to agree with John Green who, in a particular video, said that just because something is difficult, doesn’t mean that it can’t be fun. In fact, the more time I’ve spent writing, the better at it I’m becoming. It’s quite rewarding actually.

Even though my weekend was mostly spent in my dorm lounge living off of Twizzlers and Diet Dr. Pepper, I decided that I wasn’t wasting my time by using it to accomplish schoolwork; I was actually bettering myself and figuring out that my middle school teachers were right all along: learning really is fun.

It took self-dicipline, prayer, and patience on my part, but all in all, I enjoyed what I read and wrote, and know that in spite of the stress, my weekend was well-spent.

And maybe that’s how things work in this life. It’s difficult and frustrating–and we’d all rather stay in bed sometimes–but to accomplish what we’ve set out to do is a grand thing. Maybe by facing the things that don’t seem as fun as bumming in front of the television screen, we can learn in more ways than one.

For instance, I learned that:

I can write an eight-page research paper in one weekend.

I love snuggling up in a chair with the window open.

God will never give you more than you can handle.

Also, if you ask Him for help, your burden becomes a little lighter.

Lastly, Twizzlers are da bomb.

So…hope you’ve learned something from this post. Even if you don’t feel particularly motivated to begin a project, just start somewhere. Allow yourself to find joy in the process. There’s no rule that says you have to hate homework (but use your discretion as we all know math is of the devil).

Anyways, have a wonderful Tuesday!

And may all be well.

2 thoughts on “Free Time? That’s Funny.

    • You are SO right–math IS of the devil…that’s why they’re called “problems”! LOL! Another good insight from you!

Leave a Reply

