Breath of Fresh Air

Hi again! And welcome to my first post about words. I’m in the mood for a light discussion today, so I figured we’d chat about theology. No big deal.

Actually, I was in my Intro to Theology class today and was explained something about the trinity that I never really understood before. Thought I’d share with you this awesome little epiphany.

For the sake of this blog post, I’m going to assume you have heard of the divine trinity, which includes God the Father, God the Son (Jesus), and the Holy Spirit. This is sort of a three-equals-one type of thing. I thought I had a grasp on the basic principles of this concept, but what I didn’t know was this:

In order to understand that God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are of one being, we have to look back to Genesis, where the Bible talks about Adam being given the “breath of life” from God. The Greek word used to describe this is called “pnoe.” We also know that in the Garden of Eden, there was a Tree of Life created by God.

Flash forward to Jesus’ later years, specifically his death. We know that Jesus died on a cross. In the King James Version of the Bible (in Acts) Luke refers to the cross as “tree.” We understand this cross to specifically be a Tree of Death.

Stay with me as I try to connect the dots.

So, after Jesus died and rose again, we know that he ascended to Heaven to be at the right hand of God. We also understand that Jesus promised that during his absence from Earth, he would send a helper/comforter to be with us. In Acts 2: 1-4, the Bible tells us that a wind came from Heaven and was poured out on all the disciples. Not all translations make the connection that the Greek word for wind here is “pnoe,” meaning breath of life.

It’s dot connectin’ time:

So, to look at the trinity from a different angle, let’s put Jesus at the center for a second. We see that Jesus is connected to the Creator because God the Father created Adam (with his breath (“pnoe”)). Also, God created the Tree of Life, which stands opposite of the Tree of Death. When Jesus died on that tree and was resurrected, God breathed again on his people, gifting them with the Holy Spirit. They all work together as one.

How awesomely intentional God was about having this same word be used in both instances. He shows us with his Word that it is his breath that gives us life and also enables us to serve him through the Holy Spirit: his still small whisper.

If that’s not a breath of fresh air, I don’t know what is.

I know this was a little deep for my first topic, but I couldn’t not share. Not all my word posts will pertain to theology, but every once in a while, I think it’s fun-tertaining to discuss the intricacies of our spirituality, and more importantly, the love of our Heavenly Father.

Hope you have a lovely day, and please comment if you have any thoughts about the post!

Endnote: I will regularly be posting on Tuesdays and Thursdays as I’ve already mentioned. But…I think I’ve decided to throw in random posts here or there (maybe one or two a week). Don’t count on the random ones to be consistent, but be on the lookout.

I like to keep things interesting.

Okay then, thanks for reading!

May all be well.

Leave a Reply

